Wk 8 – Artist Interview – Kiyomi Fukui

For Wk 8, the piece of artwork I chose was created by Kiyomi Fukui. This furniture is very weird, but also very interesting. From the start, it was obvious that Kiyomi Fukui is a very creative and unique artist, as I have never came across another piece like this.

IMG_1085I could not help but notice that the table was set and on an oval of soil and shells. I thought this was very interesting, but I didn’t know what to make of it. From this, I just made an assumption that Kiyomi loves nature, loves the outdoors, and really loves the beach and the woods. Because to me, her creation is a combination of both environments.

IMG_1088

IMG_1086

I was also very attracted to the arrangements of objects the artist placed on the desk. It all had its own different features and characteristics. And all probably had its own meaning as well. But this too, I was not sure what to make of the objects, the small bottles, and little figures that were placed on the desk. The cabinets were also filled with soil and shells, as if this furniture was just thrown in the forests and into the beach as well.

Kiyomi Fukui, definitely showcases her style and creativeness with her art. And she also puts lots of meaning into what she creates. Fukui is an amazing artist, and this one creation reveals a lot about her skills.

It seems as if Kiyomi also attempts to send a message to her viewers, one that is not obvious about what it is, but obvious that there is a message to be sent.

IMG_1089                                                      Her art just gives off a calm and peaceful vibe, which I admire. Kiyomi’s artwork is just absolutely amazing, and I am glad I was able to examine her awesome creations.

IMG_1090

Leave a Reply

