Wk 10 – Artist Interview – Sophia Dao, Maggie Freed, Yee Li

IMG_1177

For this week’s artist interview, I viewed the works of three unique and creative artists. Sophia Dao, Maggie Freed, and Yee Li has created a collection that is abstract, but also vibrant and colorful. This type of artwork, is hands-down one of my favorites.

This collection of artwork is named “Trepidation.” It is similar to the artwork I once viewed before titled, “Introspection,” which I think may have been created by one or two of the same artists. The use of different contrasts and shades of colors and the strokes used to create this artwork is definitely eye-catching and interesting.

IMG_1174

IMG_1175

Although it seems as if the art is nothing but a bunch of shapes and lines all mixed together, I can tell that the artist meant to create an abstract, yet very clear image of an object. I mostly like the blend of colors and the contrast that is created amongst the different characteristics of the work. And specifically in the left image, I find the arrangement of the art very unique and creative. It is obvious in the work of these artists, that they are passionate at take great detail into their pieces.

IMG_1171Out of the whole collection, this is by far my favorite out of the group. The separation of the art into 16 canvases makes the artwork much more appealing and interesting in my opinion. I wonder if the artists have a purpose or message in their art, as most artists almost always relate their work to their life and their experiences.

This collection, “Trepidation,” is one that I definitely recommend taking a look at.


Leave a Reply

